All Collections
Integrations
Development
GitLab
GitLab: Manual Syncing and Editing
GitLab: Manual Syncing and Editing

How to trigger a manual sync between Transifex and GitLab

Antonis Mylonas avatar
Written by Antonis Mylonas
Updated over a week ago

Manually Triggering The Integration

There is an option to manually send localized content to GitLab without waiting for a resource to be 100% translated/reviewed/proofread. A "Manual Sync" option is available on the Projects settings > Integrations > Manage.

A modal will appear requesting the threshold localization percentage that Transifex will check on all your project's resources.

All target languages that are localized above that threshold will be synced with GitLab using the Sync content options you have set up for the integration.

For example, suppose you had set up GitLab integration to Sync 100% translated resources by creating a commit to the selected branch. In that case, the manual process will identify all target languages whose translation percentage is equal to or above the threshold percentage you set on the modal, thereby creating a commit for each resource for each target language.

📝 Note: If you send less than 100% translated content to GitLab, the untranslated content will be sent as either empty or containing the source string as the translation. This behavior is contingent on the file format. This functionality is analogous to selecting the "download for use" option in the user interface or the default mode in the GO CLI or API.

If you would like a more detailed description of how the default translation pull mode behaves for a particular file format, please visit the link below and look for the file format(s) you're interested in.


Editing a project's GitLab integration settings

As your project evolves, you may want to either increase the number of files you are syncing from GitLab or change the workflow of pushing localized content back on GitLab. To edit your options, visit your Projects settings > integrations tab and click the Manage link under the GitLab section to load the integration’s UI. Then click on the ellipsis and select Edit Settings.

While the interface used for editing is the same as that used during the initial setup, you will only be able to:

  • Change the YAML configuration to update the files to be synced in the GitLab repository.

  • Change options on how updates from Transifex are sent back to GitLab.

⚠️Warning: If you remove an already synced file or directory from the YAML configuration, the associated resource(s) will no longer be synced with the corresponding file(s) in GitLab.

Please also keep in mind that when you change your YAML configuration:

  • Transifex resources are affected - If previously synced resources cannot be found in the updated configuration file, the corresponding resources in Transifex will automatically be deleted from your project.

  • When a resource is deleted, strings’ metadata like review state, tags, and screenshot mappings are also removed from Transifex.


💡Tip

Looking for more help? Get support from our Transifex Community Forum!

Find answers or post to get help from Transifex Support and our Community.

Did this answer your question?