Manage Translation Workflows

Manage your project's translation workflow and create the workflow best suited for your content type.

Nina avatar
Written by Nina
Updated yesterday

๐Ÿ“ Note: Only Organization Administrators and Project Maintainers can configure a project's translation workflow.

Different types of content require different translation workflows and translation quality. By default, projects in Transifex follow a two-step workflow: translate and review. You can modify this to create the best workflow for your project's needs.


Workflow configuration

To manage and configure a project's workflow:

  1. From the Dashboard, select the project you want to edit the workflow for, then click on Settings.

  2. Navigate to the Workflow tab. Here, you'll see workflow options grouped by stages of the localization process. The options available to you will vary depending on the plan you're on.

  3. Set up any pre-translation work on your project's content. Pre-translation tasks automatically run when you upload new resources or update existing ones. The two options available are Translation Memory(TM) Fill-up and Machine Translation(MT) Fill-up (both available on the Growth Plan and up). In case you enable both, TM will run before MT.

  4. Select a method for translating your content. You can choose from simple translation, where translators input translations directly. Or community translation, where users from your community can suggest and vote for the best translations.

  5. Set up your review workflow and choose whether each string should be reviewed once or twice, depending on your translation quality requirements. (The second review, called Proofread, is available on the Growth plan).

  6. When setting up your workflow, press the Save Changes button.

๐Ÿ’กTip: We recommend enabling the Translation Memory fill-up option in your workflow. This way, any 100% TM matches will be used as translations automatically, saving you on translation time and costs while ensuring better translation consistency.

For additional information, have a look at the resources below:


Appendix

In this section, you will find all the details about the functionality and settings you can manage from the workflow page.

Localization workflow

The specific page is the place to define how your content will move during the localization. The page layout helps you understand which localization step comes first or before another. Explaining a bit more all the steps you can see:

  1. Upload content. It's the step where you introduce the content you want to be localized. You can do that by uploading your content for translation or approving new strings through the TX live sidebar.

  2. Pre-translation follows right after your content is uploaded, and it automatically checks and fills up newly added content with translations. The source of these translations can be from your Translation Memory (previous translations) or an automated translation using Machine Translation.

  3. Translation is the step in which the content gets translated by your collaborators. In this step, you can manage how your collaborators interact with the content you want to translate.

  4. Review refers to translated content and is the step where your collaborators - or you - check the translations and mark them as "reviewed". This means that the content passes the review step and is ready to be used.

  5. Ready for use is considered the content that has finished the localization process and can be consumed by your application or project.

Pre-translation

Any options included in this step are performed automatically when your content is updated. Content updating happens either by adding new content or by updating any existing content. You can find more about Updating Content in our documentation.

All untranslated content is checked against the enabled options for a matching translation during this step. There are two options for pre-translation: Translation Memory Fill-up and Machine Translation Fill-up.

๐Ÿ“ Note: If both pre-translation options are enabled, they are executed sequentially, with Translation Memory Fill-up running first, and after checking all new content, the Machine Translation Fill-up runs second on any remaining untranslated content.

Triggering Autofill Tasks

Autofill tasks will run whenever one of the following events occurs:

  • A new translation is added (by any method - through API, TX client, or manual file upload).

  • A new TMX file is uploaded.

  • A source file is updated.

  • The auto-fill setting is disabled and re-enabled.

TM Autofill won't run automatically in these two situations:

  • When you add new languages to your project.

  • When you enable Fill up resources from TM before uploading or updating a file.

Translation

In this step, you control:

Review

Two options for reviewing are "review" active by default and "proofread", which is available for plans Growth and Enterprise.

๐Ÿ“ Note: When disabling the Proofread step, strings in that state change to Reviewed. In case you want to re-enable the Proofread step, Transifex internally stores those strings so that you can restore them in the Proofread state.

Ready for use

This is the final state of a string, and it signifies that localization is complete. You can use this state to connect your workflow to Transifex. Here are some possible options:

  1. Using webhooks.

  2. Using the API to check statistics and download a resource.

  3. Downloading directly from the web interface.

  4. Downloading resources via the CLI Client.
    โ€‹


๐Ÿ’กTip

Looking for more help? Get support from our Transifex Community Forum!

Find answers or post to get help from Transifex Support and our Community.

Did this answer your question?